ICC Twenty20 finals: Sri Lanka wins toss, elects to bowl

April 6, 2014

Indian players during a practice T20Sri Lanka won the toss and elected to bowl against India in the final of the ICC World Twenty 20 here today.

India are playing an unchanged side while Sri Lanka have made one change, bringing in Thisara Perera for Seekkuge Prasanna for the title clash.


India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt), Rohit Sharma, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Amit Mishra, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohit Sharma

Sri Lanka: Lasith Malinga (capt), Kusal Perera, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Mahela Jayawardene, Kumar Sangakkara, Angelo Mathews, Lahiru Thirimanne, Thisara Perera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Sachitra Senanayake, Rangana Herath.

Rains threatens to play spoilsport

The final of the ICC World T20 between India and Sri Lanka is likely to be delayed as steady rainfall is threatening to play spoilsport at the Sher-e-Bangla Stadium in Mirpur.

Although the match is scheduled to start at 7 pm (IST), there is a chance of delay due to steady drizzle that forced the groundsmen to take precautionary measure.

A minimum five overs per side match is possible in order to have a result on Sunday itself. It can also happen that in a curtailed match, one team bats say 12 overs but the other team needs to bat a minimum of five overs before the Duckworth-Lewis rain rule is applicable.

In case the second team bats less than five overs, then the match will start afresh on April 7. However, as per weather forecast, there are chances of rainfall tomorrow as well. (PTI)

Courtesy: The Hindu

The Editor

Previous story Next story

related post

Leave a comment